Reader, I Married Him edited by Tracy Chevalier

28244887-1As it does with many short story collections, this took me several months to complete. Looking back I would say that Jane Eyre is one of my favourite classics so I was excited to give this collection a try.

Some of the stories really resonated with me, particularly the one about Grace Poole; I found it interesting to see how different authors interpreted the famous line so differently.

However, most of the stories just aren’t memorable at all. I find that I cannot remember most of them and even upon reading, not many of them had an impact on me. Maybe this is due to the variety of stories, or the authors writing them, but I feel like this overall was a very forgettable collection.

On the whole, I would recommend this if you are a big fan of the original novel but I don’t think you’ll get much out of it otherwise.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

