Dashing Through the Snow by Debbie Macomber

25015991I thought I’d get my Christmas reading started early this year so I picked up several festive romances from the library, this being the first I have read.

Debbie Macomber has a simplistic writing style that makes the plot extremely fast paced and although I liked it for the most part, there were a few aspects of this book that I found very jarring.

The dialogue at times came across as a little juvenile; things the characters were saying sounded like something a young teenager would say rather than someone in their mid-twenties. This was especially apparent in the final scenes of the book.

Also, the mystery aspect of the book was completely unnecessary. It was almost as if the author had two completely separate ideas for the book and decided to just merge them together. I think the story would have been better without the mystery element and with more focus going into the details of the rest of the plot.

Despite my issues with this book, it was a fun read that I enjoyed, but I think over the next few weeks I may find better examples of this genre.

2 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

