The Pied Piper of Hamelin by Russell Brand

21942867I picked this up on ebook from the library primarily because it is illustrated by Chris Riddell, who is arguably my favourite illustrator.

I cannot fault the illustrations in this book. The colours used and the layouts on the page were done expertly and they really drew me into the story. My issues lie with the writing style. Russell Brand is a comedian that I’ve never really gotten on with style-wise and in this book it was no different. Though he makes some great commentary about prejudice and sexism, he took it too far in places and I couldn’t tell if this was supposed to be a children’s book, or something more for adult readers.

Overall this was a fun read but I feel that the target audience was a little confused. I would recommend this for adult readers who want a twist on a fairytale, or for older children, but I don’t think that this is for younger children.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

