One by Sarah Crossan

29908200This is the first YA book I’ve read in a long time and to be honest I wasn’t too impressed with this one. I went into it knowing that a lot of people loved it and that the subject matter is unique in a lot of ways. However, though this book is focussed on the lives of conjoined twins, in many respects it contains a lot of tropes seen in other YA novels.

I didn’t really see the need for the romance, apart from as a device to highlight some of the problems that conjoined twins would face with regards to relationships. This was how I felt about many of the plot threads in this book. Topics such as romance, illness and television appearances were used in very stereotypical ways and nothing that happened surprised me in any way.

I feel like the book could have been formatted as normal prose rather than verse and it wouldn’t have made any difference to the book apart from making it shorter. It didn’t feel like poetry as I was reading.

Although I have a lot of problems with this book, I would say that it was a fast read and enjoyable enough to keep me reading on. I read this within 24 hours and was interested in learning more about conjoined twins. However, I felt that this book was very shallow and though might be good to introduce younger readers to this subject, it wasn’t executed in a way that made me care about the characters, hence I didn’t feel emotional towards the end as I think the reader is supposed to.

Overall I would only recommend this to younger readers and although I found the reading experience enjoyable, it was a little too juvenile for me.

2 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

