The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida

21259527I’ve been wanting to read this book for a long time so I finally decided to pick it up from the library on my last visit.

This book is laid out as a series of questions that are answered by Naoki Higashida, the author. This style of formatting was what I both liked and disliked about the book overall; breaking everything down into simple questions made my understanding of autism from Naoki’s perspective a lot easier to digest, however I felt that this also meant that there was a lot of repetition as some of the questions resulted in similar answers.

Also there were stories interspersed throughout that Naoki had written to help explain his autism and although some had a fable-like quality that really hit home, the others, especially the longer story at the end, seemed out of place in this type of book.

Overall I would recommend this book if you are interested in learning about autism from an autistic person’s point of view but don’t go into it expecting all of the answers. I would be interested in reading more about this topic but on the whole this was a little surface level for me personally.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

