Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

820748Having previously watched the film adaptation that was made a few years ago, I went into this book knowing the plot’s ultimate conclusion, however I still really enjoyed it and am really glad that I finally got around to reading it!

I loved Ender as a protagonist; in the first half I found that he was almost too good but by the end he had developed so much and became a more fleshed out human being. The side characters, though not as prominent in the story as I thought some of them should have been, were developed enough and made me interested in their lives.

The writing style was fast-paced and action-packed; there wasn’t a single page that didn’t move the story forward in some way, everything that happened was important to the plot as a whole.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and would love to read more science fiction like this. Though set in a future time, I think the fact that the beginning is set on Earth makes it a little more grounded than some science fiction and this made it easier to grasp the advanced technologies and the characters’ motivations. I would highly recommend this book.

4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

