The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

26225360This is another book that I listened to on audiobook and I think if I’d had to read it in a physical format, I would not have made it to the end.

Lots of people love this book but I have to say that I found it to be a very strange reading experience. I found that the first three quarters of the book were almost painfully slow; the character development was lacking for me so I didn’t feel emotionally invested at all. The last quarter was more interesting but the pacing felt rushed, which is frustrating because this is the part of the story I wished was developed a little more.

This book had the feeling of a Charles Dickens novel in some ways; the strange pacing, the somewhat caricatured characters and the atmosphere were reminiscent of The Old Curiosity Shop for me, though this is much easier to read.

Overall, I’m a little torn on what I thought about this one. I’m glad I read it and experienced it for myself, but I don’t think this book was entirely for me and so although I could recommend it to some people, I don’t think this is one for everyone.

2 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

