I Am China by Xiaolu Guo

23346476I will say straight away that I loved this book! I have read one book by this author before but didn’t really know what to expect going into this one.

The writing style had me intrigued from the beginning and although it took me a long time to connect to Iona’s parts of the story, I really enjoyed discovering more about all of these characters’ lives. The inclusion of Chinese history and politics was fascinating and not something I’ve read about before.

I really believe that Xiaolu Guo did her research well and fleshed out these characters in such a way that made them feel completely realistic. Everything that happens could have taken place in real life and that added to the drama and concern that I had for the characters throughout.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone, especially if you are trying to read from diverse protagonists as this is a perspective that you don’t get very often in English literature.

5 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

