Dietland by Sarai Walker

29477325Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from the publisher Atlantic Books.

I don’t know what I expected going into this book but it completely surprised me. I would say that this is a strange mix between a contemporary fiction and a thriller and I think that this worked well for the most part.  Sarai Walker did not shy away from serious and difficult themes, such as bullying, eating disorders, rape, abuse and self-harm, which I think was important for this kind of novel, and although the author dealt with some of these themes really well, I feel like it was a little heavy-handed at times. The imagery was extremely graphic and I found it difficult to read at points. I don’t particularly enjoy reading about graphic content or extremely difficult topics and this was a little too much for me.

I read this 300+ page book in a day and was thoroughly gripped throughout. I found that the mystery behind the group of ‘Jennifer’ was intriguing and though I was disappointed in the conclusion, I feel like the mystery was built up really well.

Overall, if you are wanting to read a novel that discusses feminism and the injustices women face, this is definitely a book that I would recommend picking up. However, I feel like the graphic descriptions of disturbing things in the book did put me on edge as a reader which diminished my enjoyment so this book isn’t for everyone.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

