The Worst Witch by Jill Murphy

351023The Worst Witch book series (and television series) was one of my favourites when I read them as a child. I’m unsure how far through the series I got but as I was browsing my library’s Overdrive system and stumbled across this, I thought I’d give it a reread. Of course, being a children’s book this is heavily illustrated and was a very quick read but I really enjoyed revisiting this world!

Jill Murphy has created a cast of characters that were so nostalgic to me but I recognise that this isn’t the most well-written series or anything. For me, I enjoyed rereading it but I don’t think that the simplistic writing style really translates into book that could be enjoyed by adults, unless you have already read these before.

Overall, I enjoyed experiencing this story again and may carry on with the series in the future but I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it. It’s a great series to introduce children to, especially those who are still a little too young for Harry Potter.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

