Flatland by Edwin A. Abbott

4457101This book has been on my TBR for years, ever since Sheldon mentioned it in The Big Bang Theory. I finally got around to it and I have to say, I was thoroughly disappointed.

This is one of the driest fictional stories I have ever read. Despite the concept of characters in a two-dimensional world being fascinating to me, the delivery was more like reading a text book. The ‘plot’ didn’t kick in until more than halfway through the novella and I felt that even then, it was entirely predictable.

This is more a study of mathematics and geometry than a science fiction to me. Unless you are really interested in maths, I wouldn’t recommend attempting to read this. I did enjoy some of the concepts raised but overall, this was dull and I wouldn’t recommend it.

1 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

