The Girl in the Flammable Skirt by Aimee Bender

16110385Aimee Bender is very well known in the magical realism world, especially for her novel The Particular Sadness of the Lemon Cake. This is my first experience with her work but it definitely won’t be my last. There are sixteen stories in under 200 pages so each one is very short but I think that the length of the stories were judged perfectly. None of the stories felt like they were two slow and each one felt distinct and memorable, though some definitely more than others.

Short story collections aren’t usually something I gravitate towards but I’ve read a couple this year and this is definitely my favourite. Aimee Bender’s writing style and imagery really hooked me into this collection and I will be picking up more of her work in the future. Each story had a darkness to it, some raw and emotional, others disturbing and sexual, but I really enjoyed this collection overall and would highly recommend it.

4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

