Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473
626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473

As many people are probably aware, I am a huge fan of Harry Potter. However, I was never excited to see this book released; I think the seven books were a complete story and although it would be great to see more novels set in this world, maybe the story of the Marauders for example, I think that the characters we all grew up with, such as Harry, Ron and Hermione, should be left well alone. I read this because my partner pre-ordered it and so I thought I’d give it a go.

Straight away I was disappointed. Though the original story may have been thought up by J. K. Rowling, I felt as though this was horrendously written fan-fiction. The characters didn’t feel like those that I grew up with. Despite the trio playing a huge part in this story, none of them felt like the writers knew them at all; they were pale shells of themselves, playing off the main character traits that almost made them seem ridiculous.

I’m not going to go into the plot holes, the bad characterisation or the disappointing writing any further because I don’t want to get into spoilers. Overall I would say to skip this one. I think seeing this performed would definitely be a better experience, though I’m not sure how they could ever fix all of the issues I have based on this script. There were several points in this book where I actually laughed out loud at things that happened, not because they were funny, almost because they made me feel sad. This isn’t part of the canon to me, despite what J. K. Rowling has said. Honestly, it feels as though it was written by somebody who has only ever watched the films, has never read the books, and wanted a stage production/book that they knew would sell. Highly disappointing.

1 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

