Herland by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

23398433This is seen as a classic feminist novel so I thought I’d give it a go.

I feel like if you go into this book expecting a plot-driven story, you will be disappointed but I found that it was more about contemplating humanity and the different in genders than it was any real plot development. I actually really enjoyed that about it! It makes you think about gender roles we have in today’s society as well as reflecting on the society that Charlotte Perkins Gilman was experiencing in the early twentieth century when this was written.

Overall I would highly recommend this book if you’re looking for a piece of feminist literature that fits into that classic science-fiction genre along with books like The Time Machine, where it is more a study than a fictional story. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would love to read more of this author’s work.

4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

