After You by Jojo Moyes

29613508Although I really wanted to find out what happened to Lou after the end of Me Before You, I was a little hesitant going into this sequel.

I will say up front that although I enjoyed this, it definitely isn’t as good as the first and I found some parts of it problematic. There were some heavy subjects tackled in this book and I don’t think they were handled very well to be honest. I won’t go into details because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone that hasn’t read this book yet but I will say that it deals with the themes of grief, sexual abuse and gang violence.

Overall I felt like the issues the characters faced were too easily resolved and although some parts were slightly funny, this didn’t have the light humorous side to combat the tougher moments. I would recommend this if you loved the first book but I don’t think it is entirely necessary.

3 out of 5 stars!

One comment

  1. I’m really hesitant to go into this as well 😦 I don’t think I’m ready to know what happened after Me Before You 😦 But glad to know that despite some issues, you still enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

