The Year of Living Danishly by Helen Russell

23282062I am so glad that I decided to listen to this book on audio. Not only is the narration great but the book itself is enlightening and inspiring. I think anyone reading this will want to move to Denmark immediately; I know I do!

Through exploring what makes Denmark such a happy country, Helen Russell explores all aspects of life including food, sex, work, and health. I found that Helen, though a real person, showed development throughout the book and so at points this did feel like fiction, which is in no way a bad thing.

I found myself wanting to know what happened next and whether the couple was going to stay in Denmark after their initial year. With me and my partner visiting Iceland soon, it was interesting to find out what life is like in another of the Scandinavian countries.

Overall I would definitely recommend this book if you are interested in travel or just learning about countries other than your own.

4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

