The View From the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman

29069004I only ever listen to Neil Gaiman’s books on audiobook instead of reading them in a physical format and this book is a great example of why. Neil Gaiman’s narration adds so much to the text that I can’t imagine experiencing it any other way.

This compilation of non-fiction writings from Gaiman includes articles, essays, reviews and introductions from throughout his writing career and I found, though a few were slightly repetitive of what came before in the collection (which is bound to happen in this sort of book), there was inspiration in all of the pieces.

After reading this I am inspired to write more and to create more. I am inspired to aim high and see what happens. Neil Gaiman has made me want to pick up books that I never even knew existed and his Make Good Art speech which is contained in this book has made me want to just do more creatively.

Overall I would recommend this book to everyone, especially you creative sorts, and I would definitely recommend the audiobook specifically.

5 out of 5 stars!

2 comments

  1. I’m intrigued. Which Neil Gaiman book would you recommend to someone who wants to get into his writing?

    • So far Neverwhere is my favourite. I feel like it is the most accessible whilst being fantastical at the same time. I haven’t read Anansi Boys or American Gods but I would recommend Neverwhere or one of his children’s books like The Graveyard Book or Coraline, depending on your own tastes 🙂

Leave a Reply

