This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz

15847417This is my first Junot Diaz book and, honestly, I am unsure if I’ll be reading another one.

Though I enjoyed the writing style, with it’s clever mix of Spanish and English, amazing pacing, and lack of speech marks, I found some of the subject matter to be problematic. The treatment of women in this collection made me feel uncomfortable throughout and I am unsure whether this was a deliberate choice, the opinion of the author, or a portrayal of Dominican attitudes. Either way, it made the reading experience uncomfortable to me.

Also, I was not expecting the explicitness that this book contained. This is definitely not something that I would recommend to younger readers as there is a lot of swearing and crude descriptions of sexual acts.

Overall, I loved the writing style and found that the collection flowed wonderfully, especially using the same group of characters in each one, and I like the variation between the third person and second person narratives between stories. However, some of the attitudes towards women expressed throughout made me feel uncomfortable reading. I would recommend this book if it sounds like something you would be interested in, but bare in mind that it is by no means perfect, or something that I could recommend across the board.

2 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

