It’s Not Me It’s You by Mhairi McFarlane

22752578Sometimes in between the heavier and longer books, I like to pick up something quick and light-hearted. This was one of those books for me.

Despite being over 500 pages, I flew through this in 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed it. I found the plot was well paced and funny in parts. I particularly liked the references to Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings that happened on occasion.

The characters, however, were very hit or miss for me; I loved most of the side characters as I felt that they were fleshed out well and each brought a lot to the story, however I had a problem with the protagonist Delia. I understand that everyone is different and make different decisions, but I found some of her actions and decisions regarding her love life were frustrating. In the end this was mostly resolved by the end but throughout the book, I felt a distance from Delia that shouldn’t really have been there.

One of my favourite elements of this novel were the inclusion of some of Delia’s comic pages and I found that this was a great addition to her character despite the problems I had with her.

Overall this was a fast-paced, immensely enjoyable read that I would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a lighter contemporary book this summer!

4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

