Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

27850092I’ll be honest I was first interested in this purely because of the cover but I am happy to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Written in an interview format with some journal entries from various characters throughout, this was a quick read that kept me intrigued from beginning to end. The characters were somehow developed really well though we didn’t hear much about them. My favourite character is actually the unnamed interviewer who is present throughout the entire story.

As this is the first book in a series, there are a lot of questions left unanswered, especially things that were brought up in the epilogue. The book ends on a cliffhanger which I don’t usually like but in this case it has me thoroughly invested and I can’t wait for the second instalment to be published next year!

Overall I can completely understand why some people haven’t enjoyed this book, whether that be because of the format, the characters or the plot itself, but personally I found it to be highly entertaining; it gripped me from the first page, the characters though frustrating at points were developed well, and the science fiction aspects were thought through excellently. I would definitely recommend this book!

5 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

