The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Luiselli

30032230This is one of those books where I enjoyed it but I’m not sure if I fully understood it. However, the afterword shed a lot of light on the reasons the author wrote the novel the way she did which helped with my understanding of it.

Luiselli uses prose, images, lists and Chinese fortune cookie sayings to tell a strange and sometimes surreal story. I finished it within 24 hours so it was a quick yet literary read. I think upon a reread I may increase my rating but on the first reading I found some parts confusing. I would recommend this book though I understand that it is not for everyone.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

