Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha van Leer

25903354Book characters that come to life? Fairytale elements? Sounds like a great combination but I found that this book was extremely disappointing.

I had heard amazing things about Jodi Picoult’s adult novels so thought that one of her young adult novels would be no different. However, though this may sound harsh, I almost feel that Jodi Picoult only put her name to this book in order for her daughter, Samantha van Leer, to become a published author. The writing was simplistic and the plot was predictable but my biggest problem was actually the characters.

Delilah’s defining characteristic was the fact that she loved Prince Oliver, a character in her favourite fairytale, and there wasn’t really anything else about her that built her up as a character. She neglected her family and her best friend, not to mention school, because of this romance and I found her to be incredibly shallow. The romance between her and Oliver was completely founded upon the idea of neither of them having a father but there didn’t seem to be anything else they bonded over apart from they were attracted to each other.

Overall I found this to be a fast-paced but highly disappointing read that I would not recommend. I already own the second book in the duology as I bought them together so I may read that at some point, but I wouldn’t really recommend this to anyone.

2 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

