The Herring in the Library by L. C. Tyler

8962009I picked this up at random whilst waiting for an appointment and although it had me gripped from the beginning, I can’t say I enjoyed it overall.

The writing style was clunky and the dual perspectives felt completely redundant at points, with the two characters repeating each other quite a lot.

The conclusion to the mystery is probably one of the most dissatisfying I’ve read in a detective fiction; there are so many red herrings, even the synopsis on the back of the book has one!

Overall this was enjoyable when I was reading it but it is not something that I would recommend to others as it felt too clunky and the mystery was annoying more than mysterious.

2 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

