Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronovitch

10381200I have very mixed feelings about this book. It was definitely a book of two halves; the first half was really slow and wasn’t grabbing my attention at all, and then the second half had me gripped.

I liked how the events of the first book were mentioned but not recapped as I don’t think that would have been necessary, though a lot of authors do it. This is an entirely different case so it makes sense that there were links to the events that took place but not a full run-down of everything that happened.

As I said, the pacing was off for me. I think the story took too long to build up so in the end I found parts of the conclusion too predictable because of the amount of time I had to ponder the events taking place.

The second half definitely picked up a lot and I actually read the second half of the book in one day and really enjoyed it.

Overall I would recommend carrying on with the Peter Grant series if you’ve already read Rivers of London but I don’t think this second instalment is as good as the first. I’m looking forward to reading the next book but I hope the pacing is a lot better!

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

