The Last Animal by Abby Geni

17465720 (1)I will say straight away that despite the amazing praise I heard about this short story collection and the gorgeous cover, I found this to be incredibly disappointing.

I had to force myself to finish this book which isn’t something I was expecting at all. I found that although the writing style was beautiful in places, all of the stories had a very similar tone and although they were all different stories, they seemed to blend together in my mind.

The one story that stood out for me was the second to last one, ‘Fire Blight’. I found this story to be emotionally engaging and I felt like a learnt a lot about the characters throughout. Sadly apart from this story, I’m finding it difficult to pin point any of the other characters or plots as they were all quite forgettable for me.

Overall I can understand why a lot of people really love this collection but in the end it wasn’t my cup of tea.

2 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

