Rogues edited by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois

25867078This was a book that I got for Christmas 2015 and actually started on 29th December but have only just gotten around to finishing.

Rogues is a short story collection of over 900 pages that explores a wide variety of genres, though mostly fantasy, by a range of authors including Joe Abercrombie, Neil Gaiman, Scott Lynch, Gillian Flynn and George R. R. Martin himself.

I have to say that this collection was a very mixed bag for me with stories ranging from 1 star to 5 star. There were actually 2 stories in this collection that I DNF’d (did not finish), one of those being George R. R. Martin’s story ‘The Rogue Prince’. The main reason for not finishing this story is that it is set in the same universe as his Song of Ice and Fire series and I just didn’t have any idea about that world nor the interest to learn more about it to be honest. My favourites in the collection was Neil Gaiman’s story and also the first story in the book which is ‘Tough Times All Over’ by Joe Abercrombie. I felt that these two really stood out, especially because many of the stories fell flat for me.

Overall I am glad that I read this collection and will read other collections like it in the future as I think that it’s a great way of experiencing a wide range of authors and the interesting ways that they all tackle the same theme but on the whole this collection was very hit-or-miss for me.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

