The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux

257027As I’m still on a roll of reading a lot of French books, I thought I’d pick up The Phantom of the Opera. It’s a story that a lot of people are aware of, mostly because of the musical, but I’ve never heard anyone talk about the original novel.

I read this in just a few sittings. I found the writing style to be simple and accessible, though overly dramatic at points, but I found that I was completely drawn into the world of the Paris opera house and the characters.

Though the novel was originally published in 1909, it is set a few decades before so it really does have that Victorian Gothic feel to it that I enjoyed.

Unfortunately the characters were a little underdeveloped in my opinion and there was a slow section around the middle of the novel that reduced my enjoyment slightly. Having said that, I think that this is a great classic that more people should be reading. Sure, it’s overly dramatic and not entirely believable, but it’s a fun read and I’m glad that I picked it up!

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

