The Red Notebook by Antoine Laurain

23129712I picked this up on recommendation from a colleague after I said I was looking for more novels translated from French! Similarly to The Reader on the 6.27 that I read towards the end of March, the plot of this book follows a man who finds the belongings of a woman and they develop a connection despite having never met.

However, this was very different to The Reader on the 6.27. Though the plot had many similarities to that book, The Red Notebook is a lot lighter in tone and you get to know both the male and female protagonists almost equally. I loved the Parisian atmosphere and all of the talk of French literature.

The writing was a little confusing at points but I think this might be down to the translation more than the author. Also I felt like this wasn’t gripping me as much as I would have liked, though I did read it in a very short amount of time.

Overall, I would recommend this book and will definitely be looking into reading more of Laurain’s work, but I feel like it was lacking slightly writing wise.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

