The Reader on the 6.27 by Jean-Paul Diderlaurent

25267912Whilst looking for more translated fiction, I came across this French book that I haven’t heard anyone talk about and thought it sounded intriguing so picked it up.

In the past, I have found that the writing style that comes with a novel translated from French is beautiful and lyrical and this book is no exception. The descriptions of the book-pulping factory in which the protagonist works are visceral and almost grotesque in the way they compare the books to meat.

This book shows the power of literature and builds a character that I think most people could relate to in some way. The novel is full of passages from other fictional texts and bits of poetry which make the characters seem even more real.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and my only quarrel with it is that it is somehow too short; I think if it were longer the ideas would be developed to their full potential, whereas here they are cut a little short. However, I would thoroughly recommend this novel and feel like more people should be reading it.

4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

