City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

256683I’ll be honest, I never thought I would ever read this book. Not only is the cover horrendous but I’ve heard bad things about the author and also I’d already seen the movie adaptation (which I liked but wasn’t blown away by). However, since everyone started talking about the Shadowhunters TV series, I became intrigued by the prospect of reading this extremely hyped series. Coupling that with the going through a reading slump, I wanted to pick up something quick and fast-paced. I have previously read the Infernal Devices series and really enjoyed it but didn’t really want to buy these books. I then found that I had it on my tablet from when I trialled Kindle Unlimited so thought I’d give it a go.

With prior knowledge of the plot from watching the film, this wasn’t as surprising as it could have been, especially with regards to the twist that came towards the end of the novel, but overall I really enjoyed this book.

The relationships between the characters were a little under-developed but I can definitely see this developing as the series progresses. This book did a great job of building the Shadowhunter world in New York, though I knew a lot of it from reading the Infernal Devices which is set in Victorian London.

Overall, this book was fast-paced and a fun read so I will definitely be checking out the further books in the series from my library’s Overdrive system. I think there are definitely issues with the characters, such as why Clary just accepts the Shadowhunter world is real without freaking out, but as a quick fun read, this was enjoyable.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

