All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

22041082.jpgI am not usually a reader of historical fiction but I had heard so many amazing things about this book that I couldn’t resist checking it out.

For a novel that is over 500 pages, I found that this was an incredibly fast read with short chapters that were sometimes only a page long which really kept you gripped to the story. The pace, though quick, was perfect for the development of the plot and characters. I loved how well-developed all of these characters were and they truly felt like they were based on real people from history.

I really liked the way that Anthony Doerr tells the story non-linearly, with chapters from the characters’ futures inserted at poignant moments in the story.

The writing was poetic and lyrical at points without slowing the story down and I felt that everything was described in a way that made it easily imaginable. I think the author did a really good job of not showing too much bias whilst following the stories of two characters on opposite sides of the war. He also did an amazing job of developed Marie-Laure as a blind character without making her whole personality about her disability.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it is definitely the best historical fiction based in this time period that I have read so far.

4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

