Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

25877135This wasn’t a book that I thought I would ever pick up to be honest. I haven’t read a YA book I’ve enjoyed in so long but this book intrigued me, mostly because I’d heard great things about it from a wide variety of readers.

The plot intrigued me but my favourite thing about this novel is the way it is told; the story is a collection of reports, instant messenger records, transcripts and images. Even at 600 pages, I read this book in 3 days; some pages only had a few words, but many times these were the ones that evoked the most emotion in me.

With regards to the characters, I have to say, I wasn’t really a fan of Ezra or Kady, the two protagonists. Although I found their relationship refreshing, I did feel that at times they were focussed on it way too much considering their situation. However, I loved the side characters. These were the characters that brought out the most emotion in me and I think that considering the format of the book, they were really well-developed.

Overall I think this book had a great balance of creepiness, calm and danger throughout and though I didn’t always like the prevalence of the romance, I understand why it was there and it was much more realistic than other YA relationships I have read about. I would recommend this to anyone who likes fast-paced books, or anything with a slightly unusual format.

4 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

