January Wrap Up!

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

This is an amazing book that I am so glad I got to straight away. It was a great way to start off my reading year and a science fiction book that I would highly recommend to everyone. The plot is fast-paced and the cast of characters is extremely diverse. I couldn’t fault it.

Farmer Giles of Ham/The Adventures of Tom Bombadil by J. R. R. Tolkien

I completed the Lord of the Rings trilogy in 2015 and have since wanted to read more by J. R. R. Tolkien. I will read that trilogy again this year as I think I would get a lot more out of it with a reread but this short collection of stories and poems brought me back into Tolkien’s writing. I loved the first part which was almost an adventure story in the form of a fairy tale but the poetry was lacking for me.

The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien

822619

This is my second read through of the Lord of the Rings series and I enjoyed this book so much more than the first time around. Though I didn’t like the Tom Bombadil chapters, I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and the epic world of Middle Earth and I can’t wait to carry on with the series.

A Portable Shelter by Kirsty Logan

25726385

This was a disappointing short story collection for me. I had heard nothing but amazing things about it but in the end found it a little lack-lustre and I couldn’t get absorbed into the stories.

The Two Towers by J. R. R. Tolkien

727800

I had to dive straight into this book after rereading the first and even upon a second reading, I didn’t enjoy the Frodo and Sam portions! I loved learning about the Ents and what was happening to the fellowship and the wider world but the second half was very slow. I am however looking forward to rereading the final book.

Seven Brief Lessons in Physics by Carlo Rovelli

25485216

This was extremely superficial and I found that the author had a lot of biases towards certain physicists and theories discussed. Overall I was disappointed in this book and though the cover is gorgeous I didn’t enjoy reading this one.

Leave a Reply

