The Two Towers by J. R. R. Tolkien

727800I enjoyed this second book in the series but I have to say, it was a lot slower than the first one. Due to events that take place at the end of the first volume this book is split in half; the first half follows the fellowship, and the second follows Frodo and Sam.

I found that the first half of this book was incredibly interesting and I got through it in one or two sittings. The plot was fast-paced, there was action and new characters were introduced. The Ents were introduced also and I loved the chapters following these creatures and Merry and Pippin.

However, the second half, which follows Frodo and Sam on their way to Mordor, dragged for me. Gollum is a very interesting character to read about but I think because the film adaptations stick quite closely to these sections of the story, nothing was surprising to me. I don’t find this thread of the story interesting but am excited to carry on rereading the series, closing it with The Return of the King.

3 out of 5 stars!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

