All of the Above by James Dawson

253995121I have read all of James Dawson’s other fiction works so when I heard he was writing something that wasn’t horror, I was very excited.

All of the Above is a YA romance/friendship story. I enjoyed it. I have to say, it didn’t blow my mind but it made me think a lot about sexuality and friendship. I think some of the themes were handled in quite a clunky way, which wasn’t something I expected from James Dawson and though I liked some of the characters, I felt that certain aspects of their lives weren’t developed enough.

I flew through this book in about 24 hours which hasn’t happened in a long time. The writing is quick and witty but overall I found this novel slightly disappointing. Discussing some difficult themes such as eating disorders, self harm and sexuality, I expected this book to feel like something I would remember, however I feel that this was a little typical of YA romance novels. Though typical of the genre, I was happy that James Dawson didn’t shy away from talking about sex in this book.

Overall I would recommend this book but there were themes and characters that needed development in my opinion. It’s definitely a YA romance that gets you thinking but the blurb on the back gives away way too much!

3 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

