The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

17684326 I finally read The Cuckoo’s Calling! I don’t know why I have put it off for so long but I finally got to it and loved it!

Crime fiction isn’t something I would usually gravitate towards but I read Rivers of London a few months ago and loved it, and was looking for something similar on my book shelves so thought I’d try this. This is definitely more of a detective novel that a crime as there isn’t the gory descriptions of forensics that go on in crime books. This felt more like a modern-day Sherlock Holmes. Everyone knows that Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym for J. K. Rowling but I found it amazing that although there was evidence of her writing style in this book, such as the brilliantly executed dialogue, Galbraith’s writing was a lot more adult. I have attempted to read The Casual Vacancy and didn’t get along with it because I felt that it was the same style as Harry Potter but with more adult themes. In The Cuckoo’s Calling it was almost like a completely different author.

The protagonists Cormoran and Robin were fully developed and I am looking forward to following their cases in the future. I loved how the secondary characters had fleshed-out back stories too, not just the killer. With regards to the killer, I guessed straight away but then spent the rest of the book second-guessing myself and changing my mind so I think the mystery was expertly developed.

Overall I loved this book and will definitely be carrying on with the series.

5 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

