October Wrap Up!

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

I felt bad for not enjoying this much because it is an autobiographical account of Albom’s association and friendship with a dying university professor but I thought the writing was too simple and I wasn’t emotionally connected to it at all.

You Are Here: Around the World in 92 Minutes by Chris Hadfield

The photographs in this book are beautiful and I really enjoyed seeing the world from a completely different perspective. However the text doesn’t give enough information about the images in my opinion.

The Reckoning by Edith Wharton

This was a great introduction to Edith Wharton’s writing. I loved the writing style and the themes discussed in the two stories included in this book but it was lacking some development so I think I may prefer a full length novel in the future.

Memory Palace by Hari Kunzru

This is a unique book that makes reading an experience similar to walking through a gallery. It was curated in such an interesting way and the story itself was well-developed though a little brief.

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

I finally got through this book this month and I actually really enjoyed it! It was a little slow at points but I found that the characters were well developed and the plot was intriguing.

Explorer: The Hidden Doors edited by Kazu Kibuishi

This book introduced me to a range of graphic novel artist and although I liked the stories they were not very in depth, more an introduction to the genre.

The Marvels by Brian Selznick

I enjoyed this book but I think the characters were lacking compared to Selznick’s previous work. I’m sure this would be perfect for younger readers but there was something missing for me.

The 13½ Lives of Captain Bluebear by Walter Moers

This was a fun and fast-paced novels that, although it is written for adults, I think I would have loved as a child with all of the illustrations and fantastical world-building.

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

This was a surprisingly deep look at Felicia Day’s life and career and I really enjoyed hearing about different aspects of her career. The topics discussed, particularly mental illness, really spoke to me and I think this is largely due to the excellent narration style.

The Sculptor by Scott McCloud

This was a brilliantly developed novel that touched on some serious themes. I loved the discussions about the art world and McCloud’s illustration style really suited the mood of the story.

Leave a Reply

