Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

If you follow me on Goodreads you will know that I have started, subsequently put down, this book about half a dozen times in the last year but finally I have finished the whole thing. I think when I was attempting to read it for university it wasn’t hooking me in enough and I think that Dickens is something that is difficult to enjoy if you are trying to read to a deadline.

I read The Old Curiosity Shop in August and although I enjoyed it, I feel it definitely dragged in the middle. I felt similarly about Great Expectations to be honest, though I enjoyed it more than previous Dickens books I have read.

Having already seen the 2012 movie adaptation of this book, I vaguely knew the plot and was aware of the characters to a certain extent but reading the book was still an interesting experience. Charles Dickens has a very slow writing style but I feel that it suited this first person fictional autobiography style a lot more than the third person of The Old Curiosity Shop. With well-developed characters and the perfect amount of mystery, this novel kept me reading despite the pace.

Overall, I would recommend this book but I don’t think it’s something that everyone will enjoy. If you like slow reads and unlikeable characters then this is for you.

3 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

