The Trick is to Keep Breathing by Janice Galloway

I won this book in a giveaway and I have to admit, I probably wouldn’t have picked this book up on my own, but I am so glad that I got a chance to read this Scottish modern classic.

First of all I would like to say that this novel contains triggers for anorexia, anxiety and depression, amongst other mental health issues. There are also sex scenes throughout, some of which are very uncomfortable to read about because of the  mental state of the protagonist.

Usually this wouldn’t be the type of book that I would feel comfortable reading but I found that, although this was quite a depressing read, it wasn’t bland like Stoner and there was always hope permeating through the text.

The writing style was extremely unique; the protagonist, Joy, writes in first person and the writing really portrays her mental state throughout. There are broken sentences, single word lines, dialogue laid out as script, lists, and other unusual formats, that make up the novel overall. It was incredibly captivating to read and it almost felt like a real diary or account.

Overall I would highly recommend this book if you are interested in psychology or mental health issues. This would also be great to pick up if you want to experience more Scottish literature.

4 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

