The Ophiuchi Hotline by John Varley

This book has been on my shelf for years and I’m so glad that I finally picked it up. I have been getting into science-fiction a lot more recently and think that I read this novel at the perfect time.

I will say, first of all, that this book is extremely confusing at points. Clones and cloning is a huge part of the civilisation in this book and it was difficult to understand what was going on at points but I think that as the story progressed this became much easier.

I loved the portrayal of gender in this novel; due to highly developed technologies regarding cosmetic surgery, the characters in this story choose their gender and can change whenever they want. Also, sex in their society is a lot more casual that in our own world and it was refreshing to read about. That being said, I would say that if you are uncomfortable with sex scenes this may not be the book for you, but I think that they were relevant to the story and as they were not a big deal to the characters, likewise to the reader.

Overall I would highly recommend this book if you are interested in science fiction of any kind. The mystery aspects of the story really hooked me in and although the characters were not very likeable, they kept me interested throughout.

4 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

