August Wrap Up!

The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern

This was a quick and insightful read that, although a little depressing at times, was heartwarming and surprising.

Pietr the Latvian by Georges Simenon

This was a little disappointing because I felt that the writing really let the plot down. I may check out the second one but it’s not something I’m in a rush to get to.

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams

This was a reread for me so I listened to it on audiobook (narrated by Martin Freeman) and I enjoyed it even more this second time around!

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

This was a surprisingly realistic portrayal of relationships and the high school experience, discussing topics such as alcoholism and divorce whilst also showing comedic aspects.

Tales from Outer Suburbia by Shaun Tan

This was a brilliant short story collection with amazing artwork that I honestly can’t recommend enough.

The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens

This was a slow paced book and although I found that it wasn’t really a magical realism novel, as the synopsis states, it was interesting and kept me compelled.

Waiting for Doggo by Mark B. Mills

This was a quick and fun read about the amazing relationship that can form between a dog and its owner. I read this in one sitting and though I wish it was longer, I would still recommend it.

The Midwich Cuckoos by John Wyndham

I feel that the concept of this novel was a little stronger than the execution. The beginning was slow but it definitely improved as it went on.

The Cranford Chronicles by Elizabeth Gaskell

This was a slower read again but I really enjoyed the quiet small-town stories. The characters that Gaskell created are so realistic but remain interesting throughout; this has definitely inspired my interest in North and South.

Lumberjanes (Issues 1-10) by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, & Brooke A. Allen

Lumberjanes #1Lumberjanes #2Lumberjanes #3Lumberjanes #4Lumberjanes #5Lumberjanes #6Lumberjanes #7Lumberjanes #8Lumberjanes #9Lumberjanes #10

I read the first ten issues in the series using Scribd and am looking forward to someday reading the rest of the story. I loved the artwork and found the story very action-packed.

The Little World of Liz Climo by Liz Climo

This was an adorable read full of humorous cartoons and uplifting anecdotes. I’d definitely recommend this as a pick-me-up.

Stoner by John Williams

This was a depressing read with irredeemable characters. The writing style was beautiful at points and it was a quick read. I can understand why people would enjoy this book but honestly it just wasn’t for me.

 

Leave a Reply

