Updated TBR Pile

As some people may know, if you watch my Youtube channel, I recently got a new job which means that me and my partner are shortly moving to London (well, working in London and commuting)! I have already started the job and am loving it, just going back to North Wales to complete my exams, but moving does mean that I have gotten rid of many of my books.

Just after Christmas I counted my unread books that I owned and it came to a whopping 300 or so! I was definitely experiencing some TBR (to be read) pressure and because I haven’t been reading all that much over the last few months due to work, it was even worse than normal. I don’t want to feel guilty for having unread books and I don’t believe it should be something you should be ashamed of. I buy very few things and books are something that truly make me happy so why would I deny myself that? But the fact is, there were books on my shelves that I didn’t think I would ever read; maybe I’d had them for years and never felt inclined to pick them up, or they were classics that I felt I should read rather than actually looking forward to them, or maybe they were books on my shelves that I have read previously but can’t see myself ever reading again. I think, at least from my experience, if you can look at an unread book on your shelf and not think of a reason for keeping it, maybe it’s a sign you’re not going to read it. This is just the long way of saying that I got rid of a tonne of books recently! I traded some in on Amazon and Ziffit, gave a few to friends but the majority of my unwanted books went to charity shops.

I was never officially doing #0by16 because with the amount of books that I used to have, up until recently, the challenge was just unrealistic, but now with what I have left I think I could try it. It would be an amazing feeling to be able to buy a few books at a time that I’m really excited about and then read those before buying more. Soooo….after all that rambling, here is my new and reduced TBR pile, split into sections with reasons why I’m keeping them.

Currently Reading pile

Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy, #2)The Diary of a Madman, the Government Inspector, and Selected StoriesPhoenixThe French Lieutenant's Woman

University Books – with some of these, if I don’t end up reading them, I will get rid of them after this academic year ends

The Book of Sand The OutsiderLabyrinths: Selected Stories and Other WritingsMetamorphosis & Other StoriesThe DoubleLook Back in AngerThe Birthday Party

Review Copies – copies that have been sent by publishers for review

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens AgendaBehind the ScenesBeing Benedict CumberbatchYoung Houdini: The Magician's Fire (Young Houdini, #1)The Rest of Us Just Live HereVilla AmericaUntakenFairy KeeperUnHappenings

Signed Unread Books – with signed copies, I like to have read them all so I need to get on with these!

Suite Scarlett (Scarlett, #1)Scarlett Fever (Scarlett, #2)Naomi and Ely's No Kiss ListThe Madness Underneath (Shades of London, #2)Cruel SummerThe Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy #3)The Manifesto on How to be InterestingFell CreaturesThe Witch's DaughterThe Outlaw Varjak PawDoctor Who: Who-ologyDoctor Who: Silhouette (New Series Adventures, #53)The Time-Travelling Sandwich Bites BackPerfect

Classics I Want To Read – the classics I want to read in the future and like my editions of

Nicholas NicklebyOur Mutual FriendBarnaby RudgeDombey and SonThe Old Curiosity ShopMartin ChuzzlewitGreat Expectations David CopperfieldBleak House  Little DorritA Tale of Two CitiesHard TimesThe Mystery of Edwin DroodThe Pickwick PapersStonerDr Jekyll & Mr Hyde and Other StoriesThe Tenant of Wildfell HallSense and SensibilityPersuasionEmmaMansfield ParkLove and Friendship: And Other Youthful WritingsLes MisérablesI Capture The CastleThe Count of Monte CristoBlack Beauty The War Of The WorldsSherlock Holmes Volume 3Sherlock Holmes Volume 2Politics and the English LanguageThe Chronicles of Narnia. C.S. LewisThe Complete Short Stories and Other Works (Treasury of World Masterpieces)The MoonstoneThe Canterbury Tales

Books for Fun that I want to read

The Giver Quartet OmnibusThe Illustrated ManBlack Swan GreenGhostwrittenAll You Need Is KillWonderLife After LifeElizabeth Is MissingThe Bone ClocksRobopocalypseWool (Silo, #1)The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike, #1)Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1)Fire (Graceling Realm, #2)SplinteredNight of the Living TrekkiesGeek Drama (Geek Girl)Goth Girl and the Pirate QueenThe Crash Of HenningtonSon of ManThe Ophiuchi HotlineThe Beekeeper's Apprentice (Mary Russell, #1)The Wise Man's Fear (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2)The Slow Regard of Silent Things (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2.5)A Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic, #1)Amber A Fairy TaleWhite TeethTuesdays with MorrieThe Bone Season (The Bone Season, #1)Eleven Doctors, Eleven StoriesThe Bane Chronicles (The Bane Chronicles)The Iron Trial (Magisterium, #1)Alan Turing: The EnigmaMy True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday StoriesThe Chimp Paradox: The Acclaimed Mind Management Programme to Help You Achieve Success, Confidence and HappinessThe Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, #1)Blood Red, Snow WhiteYou

Rereads – books I’ve previously read but now own my own edition that I want to read again

The Graveyard BookRegeneration A Monster CallsFrankenstein

My TBR pile now totals 110! I think that’s a lot more manageable. Let me know how you organise your TBR pile =)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

