Dracula by Bram Stoker

I originally started listening to this book on audio because I was finding the beginning quite slow but after the first few chapters decided that I was enjoying it so much I wanted to read at my own pace to went back to the paperback. This is another of my university books for exams that start next week so I’m trying to catch up on all of my reading and Dracula was a surprisingly fast-paced and exciting read.

Written in diary entries and letters from the various cast of characters, this book ties together many plot threads into one conclusion. Although I found the last 50 pages a little slow, I think the pacing for the rest of the novel was perfect and the only thing letting it down was the fact that Dracula’s vampire form is not a surprise to us in this day and age, whereas I believe when it was originally published this would have been more shocking.

I’m really looking forward to writing about this book in my exam as the themes of gender and sexuality are extremely prominent throughout and would be interesting to study further.

This is a classic that I think everyone should read. The characters are intriguing to read about and the plot is compelling so I would definitely recommend this one.

4 out of 5 stars!

3 comments

  1. The first time I read this novel was in high school, but my last semester of college I had a Gothic Lit class where I had to read it again. I think I appreciated it more especially with how much this novels pushed the boundaries of it’s time. When i wrote my paper on it for class i took those boundaries and pushed them more to where my professor was concerned, but absolutely loved my paper on Bestiality within this novel.

Leave a Reply

