Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

As you may have noticed from my recently irregular posting on this blog, I haven’t been reading much. In fact, I’ve barely been reading at all but I have been managing to squeeze in some audiobook-listening in between work, event organising and university!

Neverwhere is a book that I owned in paperback format for years and for some reason I would always read the first chapter or so and then put it down for another time. I could never pinpoint the reason why it wasn’t holding my attention but after going to a Neil Gaiman talk in Liverpool in March, I decided that he is such a good speaker I just had to try one of his audiobooks and Neverwhere is the story that appealed to me the most.

I am so glad I decided to listen to this on audiobook! Neil Gaiman reads it himself so all of the characters sound as he intended them to and the episodic feel of the story-telling is really helped through listening to it rather than reading in my opinion.

I thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this novel; the characters were all fleshed out and had very individual personalities, the villains were so evil and horrible but endlessly entertaining too, the plot was intricate and was full of plot twists, but the most impressive thing about this book is the immense world-building. London Below is probably one of my favourite fantasy worlds of all time and I don’t want to spoil anything so won’t go into too much detail but overall I highly recommend you pick up this book, either in paperback or like I did in audiobook format!

5 out of 5 stars!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

