February Wrap Up!

The End of the Third Age by J. R. R. Tolkien

This is the final instalment in the Lord of the Rings series and I’m so happy that I’ve now finished this series! I got to say, the ending of this one was nothing like I expected, but overall I really enjoyed it. The characters really came into their own in this book and the climax of the journey was so exciting to read.

Vintage Secrets: Hollywood Diet and Fitness by Laura Slater

This was a fun quick non-fiction read about the Golden Age of Hollywood and the dieting fads during the 1920s to 1950s. I enjoyed this one and would recommend it if you’re familiar with this era of cinema.

Marly’s Ghost by David Levithan

This was a quick retelling of A Christmas Carol that I enjoyed but there were definitely aspects of the story that I found a little irritating.

The Book of Memory Gaps by Cecilia Ruiz

This was an extremely short graphic novel with amazing artwork but there wasn’t really a story to grab me. I would recommend it solely for the illustrations but not for the story.

Rutabaga: The Adventure Chef by Eric Colossal

This was a fun set of comics all based on a young chef who goes on adventures, encountering imaginative creatures and witty characters.

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

I would definitely recommend this book. It was gripping and terrifying at points, but had just the right amount of comedic relief, not falling into the usual traps of a Young Adult fantasy novel.

Under My Skin by James Dawson

This book is released 5th March this year and I received an early copy for review from work. I really enjoyed this book and I loved the themes it tackled. Definitely one to pick up when it comes out!

The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide

This was a really interesting read written in a poetic writing style that suits the subject well. I would recommend this one if you enjoy slower reads that are more character based.

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

This was a funny yet at times serious memoir that I enjoyed on audiobook this month. I would say that I would recommend it to those who are already familiar with Poehler’s television work as a lot of the jokes were a little lost on me at times.

In Real Life by Chris Killen

This was a fast-paced and realistic novel about the trials and tribulations of growing up. I loved the Manchester setting and the characters that you just love to hate.

Fuzzy Nation by John Scalzi

This is a modern retelling or reworking of Little Fuzzy, a novel by H. Beam Piper that I read last month and adored. I did like this version but some of the writing style was irritating. I did like where Scalzi took the plot and characters however.

The Collected Works of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

I think this is a must read for literature lovers. The story is complex in its own way, the characters are flawed but lovable and the setting is just ordinary, though magical. I loved it.

Leave a Reply

