Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

This is another one of my university reads (there’ll be a lot of those over the next few months!) and I read half in the physical Vintage Classics edition and half I listened to on audiobook narrated by Emma Messenger.

Although I found that the pacing was pretty steady throughout, with no climaxes and a slower pace, it was an interesting read that kept me intrigued until the last page.

The characters are known by even those that haven’t read the book and although I have difficulty agreeing with Jane Eyre being categorised as a romance novel, I found that I truly cared what happened to Jane throughout her life. I found the realism of the novel, paired with some tropes of the Gothic, were highly captivating and, again, I wish only that I’d read this for fun rather than for university.

Overall I would highly recommend this classic novel and think that if you persevere through the first hundred or so pages, you’ll find it a relatively quick read despite it being a longer classic at 545 pages.

4 out of 5 stars!

One comment

Leave a Reply

