Peter Jackson: A Film-Maker’s Journey by Brian Sibley

Biography, and autobiography for that matter, is a genre that I have not often ventured into but in this case, I am so glad I picked this up. The Lord of the Rings film trilogy have long been some of my favourite films and Peter Jackson has always been a fascinating director. This book explores Peter’s life, concentrating mostly on his film-making path and how he came to be where he is today, and includes many direct quotes from various interviews conducted by Sibley himself.

The book ends in between King Kong and The Lovely Bones but the level of detail that is described with regards to The Lord of the Rings, as well as his earlier films, is intriguing and something that I would recommend to any LotR fan or anyone who is interested in film or creative industries in general.

I have never been so gripped by what is essentially the story of a person’s life; I knew the outcome, I knew that The Lord of the Rings and King Kong were eventually made and to great success, but somehow I was, at points, on the edge of my seat and completely invested in the story that Sibley set out.

The only downfall I think some people could perceive in this book is that it is a little preachy in that it does portray Peter Jackson as a perfect director and film-lover, but I can not dispute anything that was said within these pages and I wholly admire the inspiration that is Peter Jackson. This has spurred me on to definitely read more The Lord of the Rings related non-fiction this year and I would highly recommend it to everyone.

5 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

