A Sicilian Romance by Ann Radcliffe

Not surprisingly, this is another one of my university books for my upcoming exam and although I listened to an audiobook of this, I was reading along with my paperback copy too.

I went into this short novel not really knowing what to expect. Having attended university lectures on this book and having read some very mixed reviews, I expected that I would not enjoy this very much but I was thankfully proven wrong!

This is by no means a perfect novel for a modern reader with its fainting women, stereotypically masculine men and preachy interjections by the author, but I found the story to be entertaining. Although the writing style is sometimes complicated in its lengthy descriptions and occasionally rambling method of portraying action, I found the plot and some of the characters to be interesting and it held my attention throughout.

Overall, I would recommend this if you are someone who wants to read a classic that few people are talking about or if you like Gothic literature. On the whole, I enjoyed my experience of ‘reading’ this novel and am glad that I finally got around to it.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

