Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Believe it or not, this is the first of the Brontë sisters’ works that I have managed to complete. I listened to Wuthering Heights on audiobook, bought from Audible and narrated by Emma Messenger, though I do also own the Vintage Classics edition.

I had to read this novel for university and to be honest I have some very mixed opinions about it. I understand that my opinion of the book is probably clouded slightly by the fact that I had to read it to a deadline rather than casually for pleasure so one day I may reread it to see if my opinion has changed but for now I will just review it as honestly as I can based on my reading experience.

I understand that Wuthering Heights is a classic and though I can appreciate that some people would enjoy it a lot more than I did, I found the pacing and characters to be irritating at times. There was not one character that I actually liked and, though one does not have to like a character to be invested in the story, I found it a difficult book to get into. However, Emily Brontë has a beautiful writing style that sucks you in and builds a haunting world that is so realistic, it was almost like reading a historical account of these people.

I don’t really want to say anything about the plot or specifics about characters as I think with this sort of book you just need to go into it with an open mind but I would say that if you have enjoyed other Gothic novels, this is definitely one to pick up.

2 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

