December Wrap Up!

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

I read this book for university and highly enjoyed it. It’s now one of my favourite classics and I think if I reread it for fun at some point, it will definitely get the 5 out of 5 stars.

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

I listened to this on audiobook and although I enjoyed it, I found that it was a little too young for me overall. The characters became quite irritating but I think this is because to me they were a little too immature for me to connect to. However I would recommend this to younger YA or middle grade readers.

The Bees by Laline Paull

This is a unique and mesmerising book that takes the unusual world of a bee hive and adds aspects of dystopia, religion, motherhood, belonging and survival. I thoroughly enjoyed this one and would highly recommend it.

The Imaginary by A. F. Harrold

This is an imaginative and fantastical children’s book that combines the dark mysticism of Neil Gaiman with magical illustrations. I thoroughly enjoyed it and am glad that I now have such a beautiful book on my shelves.

Babylon Revisited by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This is a tiny short story collection with three stories in 76 pages and although I liked the writing style, I found the stories to be a bit bland and uneventful. Although I’m glad I finally read a little more of Fitzgerald’s work, I was disappointed with the reading experience overall.

The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen

The Rabbit Back Literature Society is an intriguing and mysterious book that can only be described as strange and a little unsettling at points but in a way that keeps you reading to the very end.

Leave a Reply

